Another shot at a New Year

Today is the first day of the year according to the Chinese lunar calendar and I get a do-over of welcoming the new year.  I got sick the first two weeks of January and it really bummed me out because I really wanted to get a fresh start on a lot of things – like reviving this blog for one.  I actually got to starting some of my new year’s resolutions once I got better since most of them involved being more physically active and I couldn’t do that when I was sick.  I take little victories when I can, and I am happy to say that I’m doing well with those resolutions so far.  I ran more miles in the last three weeks than I did the last couple of months and  I’ve added a variety of strength workouts, thanks to the Boston Strong 26-day challenge, a virtual fitness challenge that supports the 2014 Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Boston Marathon Team.  This morning, I took a moment to think of three words that I would like to set my focus on in the coming year.  I came up with 1) Mindful 2) Happy and 3) Quality.

I think these three words tie-up perfectly.  One has to make a conscious decision to be happy and to make yourself happy, you have to be self-aware.  Being mindful helps you to be more self-aware, eventually driving you to choose the better alternative for your mind and body.  This leads to choosing quality over anything else.  I resolve to keep these three words in mind this year.

One response

Leave a Reply

