Turned 30 and suddenly M.I.A.

The 29th year project has come to an end, and I didn’t even have the time to wrap it up.  After my birthday weekend, which was one of the happiest birthday celebrations I’ve ever had so far, I needed to go “full-warrior-mode” and tackle the 600-lb elephant in the room that has been staring at me for quite a while now… my thesis.  It has been a struggle writing the dissertation, as you might glean from previous posts.  I only have less than three weeks before I submit the written dissertation to my examination committee and I haven’t met my personal deadlines for the draft.  I have to say that I have three chapters done by the middle of this week, and it has been sitting on my P.I.’s desk, untouched.  I understand why he couldn’t get to it sooner – we had to prepare all the necessary files for our journal re-submission, and I know he is also in the middle of writing another manuscript.  It didn’t help that I had to do extra experiments for the manuscript revision or that I have to supervise the undergraduate volunteer as he embarks on a new lab project.  I am not a master of time management, and the past few days challenged me to spend my time wisely.  The last five days, my diet while I’m in the lab consisted of chocolate, pretzels, chips, more chips and an overdose of caffeine (the strong brew from the Seattle’s Best kiosk in the hospital lobby).  It’s tough, but partly I am to blame.  I could have done more when I had the time, but my brain doesn’t function very well when it’s not under pressure.  This is something that is hard to change.  Today was my most productive day in terms of progress with the last two chapters (and the most critical chapters at that – Introduction and Discussion).  I just have to march ahead through the weekend and finish the draft by Sunday night so that I can send it out for comments from my P.I. by Monday.  This will give me the rest of the week to refine the overall draft, put them together and get it ready for printing come Monday next week, which is the deadline for  written dissertation.  I know I can deliver.  I just need to hang in there.  And stay sane.

P.S.  I’ll have a separate post for  the weekend that was… hopefully soon.

Leave a Reply

