290: Charity towards others

A brief chat with a friend about an incident/misunderstanding yesterday prompted me to reflect on one of the spiritual goals – Loving others and being charitable in thoughts, words and deeds.  Human beings that we are, we are riddled with imperfections, making our dealing with ourselves and with others a tricky task.  It can be seen as a daily struggle.  But our Catholic faith teaches us that as children of God, we are loved and are capable of loving.  Everyday is an opportunity to resolve to love ourselves and others, because we are loved by Love Himself.  I think I sound too philosophical here, but in times like this, I turn to St. Therese of Lisieux for inspiration:

From: http://www.littleflower.org/abouttherese/learn/loveOthers.asp

“I feel that when I am charitable it is Jesus alone who acts in me; the more I am united to Him the more do I love all my Sisters. If, when I desire to increase this love in my heart, the demon tries to set before my eyes the faults of one or other of the Sisters, I hasten to call to mind her virtues, her good desires; I say to myself that if I had seen her fall once, she may well have gained many victories which she conceals through humility; and that even what appears to me a fault may in truth be an act of virtue by reason of the intention.”

“True Charity consists in bearing with all the defects of our neighbor, in not being surprised at his failings, and in being edified by his least virtues; Charity must not remain shut up in the depths of the heart, for no man lighteth a candle and putteth it under a bushel, but upon a candlestick, that it may shine to all that are in the house. (Cf. Matthew 5:15). It seems to me that this candle represents the Charity which ought to enlighten and make joyful, not only those who are dearest to me, but all who are in the house.”

Story of A Soul, Chapter IX

Leave a Reply

