293: The Burmese coach

From soccer mom to Burmese coach!

Well, not exactly coach.  The WRAP youth soccer group doesn’t really have an official coach and Meredith, the director of WRAP, has been the un-official coach of the team.  She is leaving for Thailand to conduct a short study on reproductive health practices among women in refugee camps and she has given me the task of organizing a WRAP soccer team to participate in an afternoon of friendly soccer tournament among the different youth groups in Worcester.  I am excited to help out and be the “coach” of the team.  The actual coaching I will have to delegate to the team captain, Sa Ku.  I don’t know the official rules of soccer to even make me assistant coach.  I just found it funny that they would refer to me in the emails as “the Burmese coach.”  I hope I don’t disappoint. 😉

Leave a Reply

