332: Never Let Me Go

Dystopian backdrop

Amidst sameness and bleakness

You found each other.

 

 

 

Never Let Me Go. A book made into film.  The movie just shook me.  I watched it yesterday, but I knew it really had an impact on me because it was the first thing I thought of this morning.  I haven’t read the book that it was based on, and I didn’t read any movie reviews.  The only reason I watched it is because of Carey Mulligan.  I don’t know if it was the potent combination of hormones, stress, and my secret infatuation for this certain person that made it all the more meaningful.  The film was beautifully made and the actors were great as well.  It was such a bittersweet take on falling in love and living life.  In addition, the sci-fi-ish tone to it added to its appeal.  I didn’t expect it to be against a retro-futuristic (to me anyways) setting which made it all the more quirky and unique (it was  in the 1960’s and the world has solved most of its health problems, bumping life expectancies up to the 100s).  “Never Let Me Go” had a bleak tone to it, but it didn’t leave me depressed or down-trodden.  Yes, it brought tears and a feeling of anguish in me, but at the same time I couldn’t help but feel happy for the characters in the story.  They all found their own “completion.”

Film trailer: http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi1723008537/

Leave a Reply

