The other side

 

St. Joseph's Abbey, Spencer, MA

 

This fence separates the Trappist monks of St. Joseph’s Abbey from the rest of the world.  I have always wondered about the going-abouts of a monastic life, and in my younger years have even considered entering the religious life.  God has steered me in a different course though, and after some contemplation and reflection during my college years, I have come to accept my vocation, which is to be in the middle of the world and making my mark there.  Looking back and knowing who I am today, I think that I am were I am supposed to be – on the other side of the fence.

 

Leave a Reply

