Running in Boston – Tufts Health Plan Annual 10k for Women

I ran my first road race in Boston today.

I have ran a handful of races in and around the Boston metro area, but I have never ran the streets of Back Bay or the bridges of the Charles River.  Whenever I drive around Boston, I always envy the runners who get to do their running routine, enjoying the view of the Boston skyline while passing by the tree-lined pathways of Memorial Drive or the brick apartments and buildings of Commonwealth Avenue.  Today, I was able to accomplish that and much more!   This was the Tufts Health Plan 10k for women, an annual race in its 33rd running, that starts and ends at the Boston Common.

Women’s races always have a charm to them.  The Tufts 10k was no exception.  From the booth exhibitors, to the freebies, to the mass warm-up and cool down stretches (which reminded me of the morning exercises at the Quezon Memorial Circle), the event really catered to women.  The two friends who came with me (A & R) also enjoyed the freebies they gave away.  (Too bad we were not able to get a free shopping bag from Shaws or City Sports).   I especially loved the long sleeve technical shirt that came with my race registration.  It is perfect for cool day runs.

The weather was also the perfect running conditions for me – sunny, upper 50s with a comfortable breeze.  The course itself was a scenic one, with little hills along the way courtesy of the bridges and underpasses.  It was one of the bigger races I have participated in, almost 8,000 runners and walkers in total.  It was crowded all the way to the finish line.  There were also parts of the course that had only one lane, making it a tight run in certain spots.  There were six water stops, perfectly spaced out ( I took 3 of the 6) throughout the race.  Add to that the handsome fellows, in suits and bowties, who handed out the water cups just after the 5mi mark.   The cool down area was well-organized and they had plenty of food and water for runners and spectators alike (Although the food area was restricted to the runners only – you can get extra stuff though which can feed a group of three).

I also accomplished a personal record today.  This is my best 10k to date, at 1:02:47.

Leave a Reply

